Windows 10 turned off my SQL Server Service

Good morning. 🙂

Brief introductions: I’m Natalie, and I’m at the very beginning stages of learning SQL, and I’ve been contemplating starting a blog just to document the stuff I’m trying to soak in.

Long story short: I come from a Microsoft Access background, and my employer has impressed upon me that I must learn T-SQL querying in order to keep my job. I had been living without a computer outside of my iphone for almost a year, but last week I bit the bullet and bought a new Windows 10 laptop.

I installed SQL Server 2016 Express on it. (We are using 2014 at work, but I just couldn’t help myself.) I loaded the 2014 version of AdventureWorks on it, and was following along with Microsoft Virtual Academy’s Database Fundamentals course, re-creating the queries as I watched the material. All was well as of last night.

I fell asleep around midnight after updating the comments in a few of my practice queries, and when I woke up my laptop had gone through an update. I’m new to Windows 10, so I’m sure this isn’t exactly unique insight, but I found it slightly amusing and slightly threatening how Windows slowly let me back into my machine, reassuring me that my files were all still in the same place but that now my computer would work even better. I remember thinking that the underlying message seemed to be, “Don’t freak out!”

All seemed well – the Word document I had open the night before had auto-saved and was recovered. I went to SQL Server, chose my local server, and hit “Connect.” This is what I got back:

20160612 screenshot of error
Failed to connect to server x\SQLEXPRESS. (Microsoft.SqlServer.ConnectionInfo) Additional Information: A network-related or instance-specific error occurred while establishing a connection to SQL Server. The server was not found or was not accessible. Verify that the instance name is correct and that SQL Server is configured to allow remote connections. (provider: SQL Network Interfaces, error: 26 – Error Location Server/Instance Specified) (Microsoft SQL Server)

So, what the heck, Microsoft? It worked fine last night. How can I not connect to the data on my own hard drive?

Google got me this far: “Was facing the same issue. Realized that Windows 10 had turned off the SQL Server Service. To resolve, open ‘services.msc’ and start service of SQL Server ()””

I searched for “Services” from my start menu and opened them up. Here are the SQL Server ones:

20160612 screenshot of services

It may be ham-fisted of me, but I changed the disabled ones to automatic without delayed start. I don’t know which one was causing the issue. (I did this by right-clicking, going to properties, and choosing this from the drop-down.)

Thankfully this did resolve the issue, and I was able to continue with my studies.

I would love feedback if someone has more info on this – hopefully I haven’t opened up a wormhole. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

