SQL Server: Finding Dependent Objects

To find objects dependent on a given table, you can use the following:

execute sp_depends tablename

In the database I work with, the table I used brings up many views and a few stored procedures.

I ran into this on kudvenkat’s youtube video, “Dynamic SQL vs Stored Procedure.”

He was using it to see what objects were dependent on the table before deleting it.

I work with a database whose tables I don’t want to delete, but where it may be at times useful to know what views are dependent on a table just in order to know that a certain view exists in the first place. Thankfully with RedGate’s SQL Search app (which is a free tool, and which I use daily), I can see how a view is constructed, including which tables are used.

Leave a Reply

